Muay Thai, Phuket, Thailand

Thailand. The country in which Kickboxing is a very popular sport. The country in which the best Kickboxers of the world are trained. The country in which the “Tiger Muay Thai” Camp is located.

In the middle of the Night I am getting a lift from Phuket Airport to a Martial Arts Training Camp. To the “Tiger Muay Thai” Kickbox Camp. A menacing seeming place.. I say to myself, the Darkness is the reason for strange and frightening atmosphere.

But also on the next days my respect stays. The coaches are strict and the trainees seem as if they are in their own world. Watching at or rather listening to their training is burdensome. I change my next flight to two days earlier and make a reservation in a luxury hotel. I imagine, like most of the time, that my inner happiness depends on my surroundings.

wrong decision? 

View at the Big Buddha

Seven days later I regret my rash decision. “Tiger Muay Thai” offers much more than hard, unemotional Boxing training. On Tuesdays the Big Buddha run is sheduled. A tough run with a breath-taking panorama. Excursions for stair-running and challenges on the beach are frequently on the agenda. My personal favourite ist he crossfitcourse. We perform lots of different exercises in a team and take running time as a break. The sweat is dripping and the challenge is huge. While doing Yoga in the morning I rather fall asleep, than having fun. It does not challenge me and I just go to the class because apparently its good for your muscles.

different culture, different customs

Quite often people ask me if I were afraid. Being a girl and going alone in a Muay Thai Camp in Thailand. For sure I was scared. Okay..watching a thriller stills scares me more, but yes, I was scared. To say anxiety is unnecessary, I do value as wrong. A dash of fear is good for you. My aim was to learn something new according to sports and on a emotional base. Fear makes cautious and especially intent. I know Thailand, very well indeed. The rate of rape is very low but we still need to consider a few rules. The most important is to stay out of family business. It was quite hard for me to not interact when a man shouted at his wife on the street. Even a police officer was waching without doing something. So if we learn to accept thai culture we can surely travel to a boxcamp in Thailand.

I get to know interesting and endearing people. In my courses are quite often travelers that are like me on the search for sport while being on the road. My respect fort he pro boxers stays. They focus on a sport that is agressive and unconscionable. Their training impresses me but I will avoid going to the fights.

 

Gallery:

Invalid Displayed Gallery

What do you guys think about Kickboxing especially about the Hype in thai culture? Do you know any other Martial Arts Camps that you can recommend?

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Muay Thai, Phuket, Thailand

Thailand. Das Land in dem Kickboxen ein sehr populärer Sport ist. Das Land, das die besten Kickboxer der Welt ausbildet. Das Land, in dem das Tiger Muay Thai Trainingslager ist.

Mitten in der Nacht fährt mich ein Taxifahrer von Phukets Flughafen in ein Martial Arts Training Camp. In das Tiger Muay Thai Kickboxcamp. Ein bedrohlich wirkender Ort. Ich rede mir ein, die Dunkelheit sei Grund für die fremde und beängstigende Atmosphäre.

Doch auch die kommenden Tage habe ich großen Respekt. Die Trainer sind streng und die Trainierenden wirken, als ob sie in ihrer eigenen Welt leben. Bei ihrem Training zuschauen bzw. zuhören ist bedrückend. Meinen Weiterflug lege ich auf zwei Tage früher und buche zwei Nächte in einem luxuriösen Hotel. Ich bilde mir, wie schon so oft, ein, dass das innere Wohlbefinden abhängig ist von meinem Umfeld.

Falsche Entscheidung? 

Ausblick auf den Big Buddha

Sieben Tage später bereue ich schließlich mein vorschnelles Handeln. „Tiger Muay Thai bietet viel mehr als hartes, emotionsloses Boxtraining. Dienstags steht der „Big Buddha Run“ an. Ein anstrengender Lauf mit atemberaubendem Panorama. Exkursionen um Treppenläufe zu absolvieren und Challenges am Strand finden mit aller Regelmäßigkeit statt. Meine persönliche Lieblingsklasse ist der Crossfitkurs. Im Team werden verschiedene Übungen ausgeführt bzw. Lauf-„Pausen“ eingelegt. Der Schweiß läuft und die Herausforderung ist groß. Beim Yoga morgens schlafe ich eher ein, als dass es mir Spaß bereitet. Es fordert mich nicht und ich absolviere es nur, weil es gut für die Muskeln ist.

Andere Kultur, andere Sitten

Oft werde ich gefragt ob ich Angst hatte. Ich, als Mädchen allein in ein Muay Thai Camp nach Thailand. Natürlich hatte ich Angst. Naja.. Tatort schauen macht mir zwar noch mehr Angst, aber ja, ich hatte Angst. Zu sagen, dieses Angstgefühl ist unnötig, werte ich als falsch. Eine Prise Angst tut gut. Mein Ziel war es schließlich, Neues zu lernen, auf sportlicher Basis und auf emotionaler. Angst macht vorsichtig und vor allem aufmerksam. Ich kenne Thailand, sehr gut sogar. Die Vergewaltigungsrate ist sehr niedrig und trotzdem muss man ein paar Regeln beachten. Das Wichtigste ist, dass Familiengeschichten ausschließlich die Familie etwas angeht. Wird eine Frau von ihrem Mann auf offener Straße angeschrien und an die Wand gedrückt, duldet das sogar ein Polizist. Ich bin froh, dass ich auf einem Roller in dichtem Verkehr stand und es unmöglich für mich war einzugreifen. Es wäre nicht gut für mich ausgegangen.
Lernen wir die thailändische Kultur zu akzeptieren, können wir ohne Bedenken auch alleine in einem Boxcamp leben.

Ich lerne interessante und liebenswerte Menschen kennen. In meinen Kursen sind oftmals Urlauber, die wie ich auf der Suche nach Sport auf Reisen sind. Der Respekt vor den professionellen Boxern bleibt. Sie fokussieren einen Sport, der aggressiv und skrupellos ist. Ihre Ausbildung beeindruckt mich, doch das Besuchen der Kämpfe werde ich meiden.

Bildergalerie:

Was haltet ihr von Kickboxen insbesondere dem Hype in der thailändischen Kultur? Kennt ihr andere Martial Arts Camps, die ihr empfehlen könnt?

2 Kommentare

  1. Pingback: Tennis, Miami, USA - TRAVEL SPORT repeatTRAVEL SPORT repeat

  2. Pingback: Die Surf WG in Berawa, Indonesien | TRAVEL SPORT repeatTRAVEL SPORT repeat

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Pflichtfelder sind mit * markiert.